Basic pattern set 1.

So, I’d been getting some feedback recently from people who really liked and wanted an egg (or many eggs) but just couldn’t make the price point on the ones that are truly custom. To be fair, I can understand that, just as they totally understand that the prices are based on how long they actually take me to make – there’s only so fast I can go, especially when they get really complicated.

At that point, I tried to think of a way to create a line that could come in at a lower price point in order to meet that need.  I have a couple of sets like this (there’s an animal one that I’ll be talking about very soon.) but I wanted to give the heads up on this idea first.

I’ve come up with three patterns that I can do quickly, regardless of what colors people want (except black interiors. Black interiors will ALWAYS take me longer because that is how science works.) Because I can bang these designs out fast, I can offer them at a lower price point than a truly custom egg.  I have the sketchwork done on all three designs (I’ll carve them out as samples tonight) but just to give a basic idea, here’s what they are.  These are raw images just out of the box so you can see.

  1.  The flower top.

 

In this design you have four “petals” covering the top of the egg. I can carve the “middle ring” like it is sketched here or leave that solid.  Doesn’t matter.  The bottom part of the egg is uncarved and can be painted.

2.  The single swirl.

 

This is essentially the same pattern I used for “Arrakis”, only without the themed paint job.   It’s a single spiral around the egg from top to bottom.  The rest of the egg is painted.

3.  Candy stripe.

 

This is the same pattern I used for the Pulse egg, just without the painstaking paint job (that rainbow gradient was challenging.)  It’s two parallel swirls that go from top to bottom.

I’ve made some eggs like this in the past.  Here’s some examples:

 

 

But I can make them much more quickly now than I did years ago, so it’s possible to drop the price on these specific patterns.

Here’s how it works:  though my regular prices for themed, beaded and most especially, photographic eggs will remain as they are, these *specific* patterns will be available at $50- each, plus $5 for the stand (stands aren’t included for these specific patterns automatically) and shipping (which is you know, shipping. Also, tax if you’re in New York State) If you want all three as a set, they’re $130, not including stands ($10 for 3 stands, though, so you save there too.)

You get to choose:

  1. Which pattern you want.
  2. Your interior color (one color. Black is ALWAYS $10 extra, because black is a PITA to create.)
  3.  Your exterior colors (max of 3, please. Yes, you can choose metallic colors.  That’s fine.)
  4. Your choice of matte or gloss finishes.

The turnaround time on these should be about 36 hours, tops, so they’re good for gifts.  Yes, if you order a set you can pick different colors for each one. That’s fine. The key for me is that the patterns and paint jobs are things I can turn around quickly.

I’ll get the order form on etsy very soon, but if you want to jump on this (and I hope people jump on it, really) you can fill out one of the customization order forms, email me directly at eggrotechnyc@gmail.com or just poke me on twitter @eggrotech.

I will have animal patterns coming out in this same idea in a couple days. In the meantime- go get some of these!

 

 

Leave a comment